Why work with a Recruiter? 4 reasons why not and 4 arguments!

It’s amazing to me how many people are looking for a new job and refuse to even entertain the idea of working with a recruiter. As I have explained many times, there are so many reasons why job seekers should use recruiters.  For all y’all that don’t know, check it out(I hope at least one of you gets the Kris Kross reference…)!

Job Seekers don’t use Recruiters because……

1. “I don’t want to pay someone to find me a job.”  

-This isn’t the case in all situations, but the majority(99%) of the companies that I know of, the candidate doesn’t have to pay a penny.   The company that the recruiting firm is working for is the one that shells out the cash!  So go ahead, contact a professional to take care of your job search.

2. “They call ALL the time and are too pushy.” 

-Unfortunately this does happen.  With different motives being the culprit, recruiters get a little overzealous and use their telephone too often. My advice is to set the ground rules immediately, if you only want to be contacted after 5pm, tell him/her.  If you only want to be emailed, tell him/her.  If you don’t want to be sent text messages(yes, we do that), tell him/her.  Hopefully the reason they are contacting you so much is because they have so many opportunities that you are a match for, they HAVE to.  But, definitely not always the case.

3. “There are plenty of jobs out there, I’ll just find one myself.” 

-This is actually not true at all!  At least in the market I’m working in.  Good jobs, at good companies, are at a high premium currently.  This does vary with location and time of year.  I’ve been in the industry for 3.5 yrs and I’ve seen the ups and downs. Again, why not have a professional working for you to find you the best fit?

4. “I’m already working with a recruiter, I can’t work with another one.”

-I don’t mean to sound like a broken record, but this is also not true!  My recommendation to ANY job seeker is, work with as many as possible!  To be clear, most clients have rules against having your resume submitted by 2 recruiters to the same job.  So DO NOT do that.  But, my company will have clients and openings that other firms don’t, and vice versa!  So as long as you’re organized with the positions you are submitted for, there shouldn’t be any problems.

Conclusion:

I have read that blog posts aren’t supposed to be very long, so I am cutting my list short at 4.  I have many other reasons, so if you are looking for more, please comment or contact me at any time!

Until next time job seekers…Happy Hunting!

Leave a comment